Sleepy Hill Middle School

Staff Directory

Administration

Dr. Kathryn Blackburn : Principal

Dr. Kathryn Blackburn

Principal

Dr. Kathryn Blackburn received her Bachelor's Degree from the University of North Carolina, obtaining a Master's in Educational Leadership from Nova University. After teaching in the classroom, she furthered her career, becoming a Reading Academic Coach, then an Assistant Principal. Dr. Blackburn went on to complete her Doctoral Degree at the University of South Florida, where she is currently a Professor.

kathryn.blackburn@polk-fl.net
Laura Bailey : Assistant Prinicipal-7th grade

Laura Bailey

Assistant Prinicipal-7th grade

Laura Bailey, our assistant principal of curriculum, has a Bachelor’s Degree in Language Arts and a Master’s Degree in Educational Leadership. Her teaching career consists of eight years as an English teacher (grades 6-12). Her experience also includes working with discipline and curriculum as a dean of students at Homer K. Addair Career Academy for two years.

laura.bailey@polk-fl.net
Doleciea Hearn : Assistant Principal - 8th Grade

Doleciea Hearn

Assistant Principal - 8th Grade

Doleciea Hearns, the assistant principal of administration, has a Bachelor's Degree in Interdisciplinary Social Science and Master's Degree in Educational Leadership from the University of South Florida. Mrs. Hearns taught in the classroom for 6 years, as an ESE teacher, before taking on leadership roles. She Served as a Dean of Discipline at Lakeland High School for a year, later serving as Sleepy Hill Middle's LEA Facilitator; becoming the assistant principal in 2013.

doleciea.hearn@polk-fl.net
Jennifer Bookhamer : Assistant Prinicipal II-6th grade

Jennifer Bookhamer

Assistant Prinicipal II-6th grade

Jennifer Bookhamer was raised in the Tampa Bay area, earning a Bachelor's degree in Organizational Psychology, later earning her Master's degree in Educational Leadership from Saint Leo University. Mrs. Bookhamer taught Language Arts and Reading throughout Polk county school district. She would then join the Sleepy Hill Middle School staff in 2012 as the Academic Literacy Coach, before becoming one of our assistant principals.

jennifer.bookhamer@polk-fl.net
Rayna Kieffer : Assistant Principal II

Rayna Kieffer

Assistant Principal II

Rayna Kieffer is a graduate of Miami University (International Studies), University of Southern Indiana (English & Secondary Education), Indiana Wesleyan University (Masters of Education), and Eastern Illinois University (Certificate of Educational Leadership). After having taught middle and high school English in southern Illinois for 10 years, she moved to Lakeland in search of sunshine. She began her Polk County career at Crystal Lake Middle where she was an English teacher, Reading Coach, Reading Interventionist, and Teacher Resource Specialist Trainer for 7 and ½ years. She moved to Sleepy Hill Middle in January 2016 as the Reading Interventionist. From the Fall of 2016 until November 2017, she was the Reading Coach before being appointed as an Assistant Principal.

rayna.kieffer@polk-fl.net
Alfred Corso : Dean of Students

Alfred Corso

Dean of Students

alfred.corso@polk-fl.net

Staff

Academic Resource

Anthony Hileman : Guidance Counselor A-L

Anthony Hileman

Guidance Counselor A-L

anthony.hileman@polk-fl.net
Dr. Robert Pincus : Guidance Counselor M-Z

Dr. Robert Pincus

Guidance Counselor M-Z

robert.pincus@polk-fl.net
Nicole Jobin : Reading Coach

Nicole Jobin

Reading Coach

nicole.jobin@polk-fl.net
Karrie Shelnut : Mathematics Coach

Karrie Shelnut

Mathematics Coach

karrie.shelnut@polk-fl.net
Anisa Powder : Math Interventionist/Title I Liaison

Anisa Powder

Math Interventionist/Title I Liaison

anisa.powder@polk-fl.net
Gretchen Arzillo : Testing Coordinator

Gretchen Arzillo

Testing Coordinator

gretchen.arzillo@polk-fl.net
Cornelius Blackman : LEA/ESE Facilitator/Webmaster

Cornelius Blackman

LEA/ESE Facilitator/Webmaster

cornelius.blackman@polk-fl.net

Electives/Academies

Najla Lyles : Art

Najla Lyles

Art

najla.lyles@polk-fl.net
Cynthia Gaitanis : Chorus

Cynthia Gaitanis

Chorus

cynthia.gaitanis@polk-fl.net
Joshua Nelson : Band Director

Joshua Nelson

Band Director

joshua.nelson@polk-fl.net
Joseph Evans Jr. : Leadership

Joseph Evans Jr.

Leadership

joseph.evans@polk-fl.net
Carol Joyner : Leadership

Carol Joyner

Leadership

carol.joyner@polk-fl.net
Madeline O. Lopez : Leadership

Madeline O. Lopez

Leadership

madeline.lopez@polk-fl.net
Hali Mercer : Leadership

Hali Mercer

Leadership

hali.mercer@polk-fl.net
Corey Tumer : P.E. Coach

Corey Tumer

P.E. Coach

corey.tumer@polk-fl.net
Misty Markel : P.E. Coach

Misty Markel

P.E. Coach

misty.markel@polk-fl.net
Amy Hamilton : Technology/Academies Liaison

Amy Hamilton

Technology/Academies Liaison

amy.hamilton@polk-fl.net
Rosaland Henderson : CSI Academy

Rosaland Henderson

CSI Academy

rosaland.henderson@polk-fl.net
Aric N. Kroon : Aerospace Technology

Aric N. Kroon

Aerospace Technology

aric.kroon@polk-fl.net
Gary Roy : Aerospace Technology

Gary Roy

Aerospace Technology

gary.roy@polk-fl.net

Interventions/Gifted

Jeremy Cannon : Inclusion

Jeremy Cannon

Inclusion

jeremy.cannon@polk-fl.net
Grace Collymore : Inclusion

Grace Collymore

Inclusion

grace.collymore@polk-fl.net
Opal Harris : Inclusion

Opal Harris

Inclusion

opal.harris@polk-fl.net
Jesenia Jester : Inclusion

Jesenia Jester

Inclusion

jesenia.jester@polk-fl.net
William Leonard II : Inclusion

William Leonard II

Inclusion

william.leonardii@polk-fl.net
Lavenia Wiggs : Inclusion

Lavenia Wiggs

Inclusion

lavenia.wiggs@polk-fl.net
Christa Laflam : Self-Contained

Christa Laflam

Self-Contained

christa.laflam@polk-fl.net
C. Blackman/A. Dolyak : Gifted Services

C. Blackman/A. Dolyak

Gifted Services

Michele Yamano : E2020/Course Recovery

Michele Yamano

E2020/Course Recovery

michele.yamano@polk-fl.net

Language Arts

Ryne Leake : 6th Grade

Ryne Leake

6th Grade

ryne.leake@polk-fl.net
Elizabeth Rodriguez : 7th Grade

Elizabeth Rodriguez

7th Grade

elizabeth.rodriguez@polk-fl.net
Gina Stephens : 8th Grade

Gina Stephens

8th Grade

gina.stephens@polk-fl.net
Sheldon Benjamin : Aerospace

Sheldon Benjamin

Aerospace

sheldon.benjamin@polk-fl.net
Deborah Hanson : STEM

Deborah Hanson

STEM

deborah.hanson@polk-fl.net
Roe Courtney : Overflow

Roe Courtney

Overflow

courtney.roe@polk-fl.net
Omaris Sanjurjo : CSI

Omaris Sanjurjo

CSI

omaris.sanjurjo@polk-fl.net
Ebelin Gonzalez : ESOL Language Arts

Ebelin Gonzalez

ESOL Language Arts

ebelin.gonzalez@polk-fl.net

Mathematics

Renee Holleman : 6th Grade

Renee Holleman

6th Grade

renee.holleman@polk-fl.net
Tracy Stickle : 6th Grade

Tracy Stickle

6th Grade

tracy.stickle@polk-fl.net
Connie Snell : 6th Grade Intensive

Connie Snell

6th Grade Intensive

connie.snell@polk-fl.net
Patrick Septenma : Academies

Patrick Septenma

Academies

patrick.septenma@polk-fl.net
Mark O’Grady : 8th Grade Intensive

Mark O’Grady

8th Grade Intensive

mark.ogrady@polk-fl.net
Alejandro Carreno : STEM

Alejandro Carreno

STEM

alejandro.carreno@polk-fl.net

Reading

Annalisa Bayo : 6th Grade

Annalisa Bayo

6th Grade

annalisa.bayo@polk-fl.net
Rosandra Williams : 7th Grade

Rosandra Williams

7th Grade

rosandra.williams@polk-fl.net
Tiffany King : 8th Grade

Tiffany King

8th Grade

tiffany.king01@polk-fl.net
Kimberly Beals : CSI

Kimberly Beals

CSI

kimberly.beals@polk-fl.net
Sarah Dennis : Aerospace

Sarah Dennis

Aerospace

sarah.dennis@polk-fl.net
Ashley Roberts : STEM

Ashley Roberts

STEM

ashley.roberts@polk-fl.net
Lori Fowler : Overflow

Lori Fowler

Overflow

lori.fowler@polk-fl.net
Carolyn Ousterout : Overflow

Carolyn Ousterout

Overflow

carolyn.ousterout@polk-fl.net

Science

Olga Hernandez : 6th Grade

Olga Hernandez

6th Grade

olga.hernandez@polk-fl.net
Blanca Pabon : 7th Grade

Blanca Pabon

7th Grade

blanca.pabon@polk-fl.net
Kathryn Helwig : 8th Grade

Kathryn Helwig

8th Grade

kathryn.helwig@polk-fl.net
April Dolyak : Science/Gifted

April Dolyak

Science/Gifted

april.dolyak@polk-fl.net
Tinnesha Alfred : Academy

Tinnesha Alfred

Academy

tinnesha.alfred@polk-fl.net
Dennis Schmaus : Academy

Dennis Schmaus

Academy

dennis.schmaus@polk-fl.net
Maegen Wren : Academy

Maegen Wren

Academy

maegen.wren@polk-fl.net
Tequila Harris : Overflow

Tequila Harris

Overflow

tequila.harris@polk-fl.net

Secretaries

Melodie Brown : Principal Secretary

Melodie Brown

Principal Secretary

melodie.brown@polk-fl.net
Linda James : Finance Secretary

Linda James

Finance Secretary

linda.james@polk-fl.net
Noemi Long : Front Office Receptionist

Noemi Long

Front Office Receptionist

noemi.long@polk-fl.net
Zudie Smith : Guidance Secretary/Terminal Operator

Zudie Smith

Guidance Secretary/Terminal Operator

zudie.smith@polk-fl.net

Social Studies

Support Staff

Hartley Busby : Paraeducator

Hartley Busby

Paraeducator

hartley.busby@polk-fl.net
Sharon Flynn : Paraeducator

Sharon Flynn

Paraeducator

sharon.flynn@polk-fl.net
Gamila Hopkins : Paraeducator

Gamila Hopkins

Paraeducator

gamila.hopkins@polk-fl.net
Angeles Otero : Paraeducator

Angeles Otero

Paraeducator

angeles.otero@polk-fl.net
Jannetta Peters : Paraeducator

Jannetta Peters

Paraeducator

jannetta.peters@polk-fl.net
Kadayne Watson : Paraeducator

Kadayne Watson

Paraeducator

kadayne.watson@polk-fl.net
Megan Lalonde : Computer Lab Manager

Megan Lalonde

Computer Lab Manager

megan.lalonde@polk-fl.net
Stacy Meyers : Network Manager

Stacy Meyers

Network Manager

stacy.meyers@polk-fl.net
Lisa Vansluyters : School Nutrition Manager

Lisa Vansluyters

School Nutrition Manager

lisa.vansluyters@polk-fl.net
Officer Julio Ruiz : School Resource Officer

Officer Julio Ruiz

School Resource Officer

julio.ruiz@polk-fl.net
Melissa Walton : School Psychologist

Melissa Walton

School Psychologist

melissa.walton@polk-fl.net