Sleepy Hill Middle School

Staff Directory

Administration

Dr. Kathryn Blackburn : Principal

Dr. Kathryn Blackburn

Principal

Dr. Kathryn Blackburn received her Bachelor's Degree from the University of North Carolina, obtaining a Master's in Educational Leadership from Nova University. After teaching in the classroom, she furthered her career, becoming a Reading Academic Coach, then an Assistant Principal. Dr. Blackburn went on to complete her Doctoral Degree at the University of South Florida, where she is currently a Professor.

kathryn.blackburn@polk-fl.net
Laura Bailey : Assistant Prinicipal-7th grade

Laura Bailey

Assistant Prinicipal-7th grade

Laura Bailey, our assistant principal of curriculum, has a Bachelor’s Degree in Language Arts and a Master’s Degree in Educational Leadership. Her teaching career consists of eight years as an English teacher (grades 6-12). Her experience also includes working with discipline and curriculum as a dean of students at Homer K. Addair Career Academy for two years.

laura.bailey@polk-fl.net
Doleciea Hearn : Assistant Principal - 8th Grade

Doleciea Hearn

Assistant Principal - 8th Grade

Doleciea Hearns, the assistant principal of administration, has a Bachelor's Degree in Interdisciplinary Social Science and Master's Degree in Educational Leadership from the University of South Florida. Mrs. Hearns taught in the classroom for 6 years, as an ESE teacher, before taking on leadership roles. She Served as a Dean of Discipline at Lakeland High School for a year, later serving as Sleepy Hill Middle's LEA Facilitator; becoming the assistant principal in 2013.

doleciea.hearn@polk-fl.net
Jennifer Bookhamer : Assistant Prinicipal II-6th grade

Jennifer Bookhamer

Assistant Prinicipal II-6th grade

Jennifer Bookhamer was raised in the Tampa Bay area, earning a Bachelor's degree in Organizational Psychology, later earning her Master's degree in Educational Leadership from Saint Leo University. Mrs. Bookhamer taught Language Arts and Reading throughout Polk county school district. She would then join the Sleepy Hill Middle School staff in 2012 as the Academic Literacy Coach, before becoming one of our assistant principals.

jennifer.bookhamer@polk-fl.net
Robert Greco : Dean of Students

Robert Greco

Dean of Students

Robert Greco has worked throughout the Bay area as part of Polk County School Board, Lake Region Football Officials Association, Hillsborough County Parks, Recreation, and Conservation. He is a graduate of the University of South Florida, first earning his Bachelor's in Social Science Education, then later returning to earn a Master's in Educational Leadership. Robert Greco would join the Sleepy Hill Middle School team in 2009, where he remains dedicated to the teacher and students of Sleepy Hill Middle School in an effort to keeping the school safe.

robert.greco@polk-fl.net

Staff

Academic Resource

Anthony Hileman : Guidance Counselor

Anthony Hileman

Guidance Counselor

anthony.hileman@polk-fl.net
Sandy Mathieu : Guidance Counselor

Sandy Mathieu

Guidance Counselor

sandy.mathieu@polk-fl.net
Mark Neely : School Psychologist

Mark Neely

School Psychologist

mark.neely@polk-fl.net
Gretchen Arzillo : Testing Coordinator

Gretchen Arzillo

Testing Coordinator

gretchen.arzillo@polk-fl.net
Rayna Kieffer : ELA Academic Coach

Rayna Kieffer

ELA Academic Coach

rayna.kieffer@polk-fl.net
Jennifer Estep : Mathematics Coach

Jennifer Estep

Mathematics Coach

jennifer.estep@polk-fl.net
Alfred Corso : Reading Interventionist

Alfred Corso

Reading Interventionist

alfred.corso@polk-fl.net
Jennifer Warren : LEA Facilitator

Jennifer Warren

LEA Facilitator

jennifer.warren@polk-fl.net

Electives/Academies

Najla Lyles : Art

Najla Lyles

Art

najla.lyles@polk-fl.net
Joshua Nelson : Band Director

Joshua Nelson

Band Director

joshua.nelson@polk-fl.net
Joseph Evans Jr. : Leadership

Joseph Evans Jr.

Leadership

joseph.evans@polk-fl.net
Kathryn Helwig : Leadership

Kathryn Helwig

Leadership

kathryn.helwig@polk-fl.net
Madeline O. Lopez : Leadership

Madeline O. Lopez

Leadership

madeline.lopez@polk-fl.net
Corey Tumer : P.E. Coach

Corey Tumer

P.E. Coach

corey.tumer@polk-fl.net
Misty Markel : P.E. Coach

Misty Markel

P.E. Coach

misty.markel@polk-fl.net
Amy Hamilton : Technology

Amy Hamilton

Technology

amy.hamilton@polk-fl.net

Interventions/Gifted

Tinnesha Alfred : Academy

Tinnesha Alfred

Academy

tinnesha.alfred@polk-fl.net
Jeremy Cannon : Inclusion

Jeremy Cannon

Inclusion

jeremy.cannon@polk-fl.net
Roberta A. Jenkins : Inclusion

Roberta A. Jenkins

Inclusion

roberta.jenkins@polk-fl.net
William Leonard II : Inclusion

William Leonard II

Inclusion

william.leonardii@polk-fl.net
Anisa Powder : Inclusion

Anisa Powder

Inclusion

anisa.powder@polk-fl.net
Christa Laflam : Self-Contained

Christa Laflam

Self-Contained

christa.laflam@polk-fl.net
Michele Yamano : E2020/Course Recovery

Michele Yamano

E2020/Course Recovery

michele.yamano@polk-fl.net

Language Arts

Sheldon Benjamin : 6th grade

Sheldon Benjamin

6th grade

sheldon.benjamin@polk-fl.net
Hali Mercer : 7th grade

Hali Mercer

7th grade

hali.mercer@polk-fl.net
Ryne Leake : Aerospace

Ryne Leake

Aerospace

ryne.leake@polk-fl.net
Benjamin Goodman : CSI

Benjamin Goodman

CSI

benjamin.goodman@polk-fl.net
Deborah Hanson : STEM

Deborah Hanson

STEM

deborah.hanson@polk-fl.net
Carolyn Ousterout : Overflow

Carolyn Ousterout

Overflow

carolyn.ousterout@polk-fl.net
Cornelius Blackman : ESOL Language Arts/Webmaster

Cornelius Blackman

ESOL Language Arts/Webmaster

cornelius.blackman@polk-fl.net

Mathematics

Renee Holleman : 6th grade

Renee Holleman

6th grade

renee.holleman@polk-fl.net
Alejandro Carreno : 7th grade

Alejandro Carreno

7th grade

alejandro.carreno@polk-fl.net
Demojne Robinson : 8th grade

Demojne Robinson

8th grade

demojne.robinson@polk-fl.net
Danielle Roberts : Aerospace

Danielle Roberts

Aerospace

danielle.roberts@polk-fl.net
Jeanine Hynes : STEM

Jeanine Hynes

STEM

jeanine.hynes@polk-fl.net
Sondra McPhail : Overflow

Sondra McPhail

Overflow

sondra.mcphail@polk-fl.net

Reading

Annalisa Bayo : 6th grade

Annalisa Bayo

6th grade

annalisa.bayo@polk-fl.net
Elizabeth Rodriguez : 6th grade

Elizabeth Rodriguez

6th grade

elizabeth.rodriguez@polk-fl.net
Elba Colon : 7th grade

Elba Colon

7th grade

elba.colon@polk-fl.net
Tiffany King : 8th grade

Tiffany King

8th grade

tiffany.king@polk-fl.net
Kimberly Beals : Academy

Kimberly Beals

Academy

kimberly.beals@polk-fl.net
Ashley Roberts : Academy

Ashley Roberts

Academy

ashley.roberts@polk-fl.net
Sarah Dennis : Aerospace

Sarah Dennis

Aerospace

sarah.dennis@polk-fl.net
Patricia Busby : Overflow

Patricia Busby

Overflow

patricia.busby@polk-fl.net

Science

Olga Hernandez : 6th grade

Olga Hernandez

6th grade

olga.hernandez@polk-fl.net
Carol Joyner : 8th grade

Carol Joyner

8th grade

carol.joyner@polk-fl.net
Tinnesha Alfred : Academy

Tinnesha Alfred

Academy

tinnesha.alfred@polk-fl.net
Dennis Schmaus : Academy

Dennis Schmaus

Academy

dennis.schmaus@polk-fl.net
Maegen Wren : Academy

Maegen Wren

Academy

maegen.wren@polk-fl.net

Secretaries

Melodie Brown : Principal Secretary

Melodie Brown

Principal Secretary

melodie.brown@polk-fl.net
Linda James : Finance Secretary

Linda James

Finance Secretary

linda.james@polk-fl.net
Jaticia Jones-Bennefield : Terminal Operator

Jaticia Jones-Bennefield

Terminal Operator

jaticia.bennefield@polk-fl.net
Zudie Smith : Front Desk Receptionist

Zudie Smith

Front Desk Receptionist

zudie.smith@polk-fl.net
Angeles Otero : Paraeducator

Angeles Otero

Paraeducator

angeles.otero@polk-fl.net

Social Studies

Support Staff

Travis Ellison : School Resource Officer

Travis Ellison

School Resource Officer

travis.ellison@polk-fl.net
Patricia Byers : Paraeducator

Patricia Byers

Paraeducator

patricia.byers@polk-fl.net
Marvel Combs : Paraeducator

Marvel Combs

Paraeducator

marvel.combs@polk-fl.net
Sharon Flynn : Paraeducator

Sharon Flynn

Paraeducator

sharon.flynn@polk-fl.net
Nieves Garcia : Paraeducator

Nieves Garcia

Paraeducator

nieves.garcia@polk-fl.net
Gamila Hopkins : Paraeducator

Gamila Hopkins

Paraeducator

gamila.hopkins@polk-fl.net
Stacy Meyers : Network Manager

Stacy Meyers

Network Manager

stacy.meyers@polk-fl.net